Nursing Graduation

Article Published: 06/26/2017

EHOVE School of Practical Nursing's Graduation Ceremony was held on June 13 at EHOVE Adult Career Center with approximately 450 family and friends in attendance. Mr. Ben Chaffee Jr., Director of Adult Education opened the ceremony with a warm welcome to those in attendance.   

List of Graduates |  Event Photos

The Class speakers, Lauren Walls, Christina Keiter, and Hannah Mira addressed their classmates. This was the 26th full-time class and the 14th part-time day class of EHOVE School of Practical Nursing, which successfully met the standards as set by the Ohio Board of Nursing and the Council on Occupational Education.  Successful completion of the nursing program in an approved school entitles the graduate to take the national examination, the NCLEX-PN in order to become a Licensed Practical Nurse in Ohio.  Students receive their clinical experience at various affiliated facilities located as far east as Lorain, and as far west as Fremont and Green Springs. 

Several awards were given.  Valedictorian honors for highest class room grade point average went to Full-time student, Christina Keiter of Rocky Ridge, and Part-Time Day student, Karen Lepley of Clyde.  The “Outstanding Heather Richards Clinician” awards were given to Full-Time student Morgan Alban of Sullivan, and Part-Time Day student Rachael Wahl of Ashland.

Also announced was the Helen Noble Memorial Award.  The recipients were selected by the faculty, to recognize students who best exemplify the characteristics of dependability, trustworthiness, kindness, empathy and cheerfulness.  The award went to Full-Time student, Hannah Mira of Bellevue and Part-Time Day student, April Haley of Vermilion.

The Licensed Practical Nursing Association of Ohio award was presented to Full-Time student, Kristine Muniz of Plymouth and Part-Time Day student, Lin Sauer of Wellington.   This award goes to the student in each class who best demonstrated enthusiasm, positive attitude and sincere interest in the improvement of the profession of nursing.

The National Technical Honor Society Award was given to Full-Time student, Morgan Alban of Sullivan and Hanna Mira of Bellevue; Part-Time Day students, Karen Lepley of Clyde, Rachael Wahl of Ashland  and Lauren Walls of Huron.  The recipients are selected by faculty and reviewed by a committee for their scholastic achievement, skill development, leadership, honesty, responsibility and general good character. 

Janet Ballard, MEd., BSN, RN, Director of EHOVE School of Practical Nursing recognized Graduate Mary Rose as the recipient of the first Karen E. Holmes Memorial Scholarship and Mrs. Jessica Zufall addressed the graduates. Mrs. Zufall is the sister of Karen E. Holmes, whose life was tragically taken by domestic violence in 2015. Karen was a student in the Part-time class and would have been graduating with these classes.  She shared Karen’s dedication to nursing and lifelong learning, and inspired the graduates to live out Karen’s passion for serving others as a nurse.  In Karen’s memory, her cap, school pin and a rose were presented to Mrs. Zufall by two of Karen’s classmates, Karen Lepley and Charlene Martucci.  Mrs. Ballard recommended the classes for graduation and called the roll as they received their diplomas from Director of EHOVE Adult Education, Mr. Ben Chaffee, Jr. and Assistant Director of EHOVE Adult Education, Mrs. Laura Dowdell.

The school has been in existence at EHOVE Adult Career Center since 1991 and enrolls students twice per year. The next class will start in January of 2018. For more information on how to get started in your nursing career, view the program page or call Tracie at 419-499-5231.